It has often been observed that the ten commandments are given in two “tables” — that is, there are two primary sections of commandments, with the first four governing a man’s relationship with God and the second six governing a man’s relationships with other men.

It is also significant that each of the Old Testament commands has a corresponding comment or command in the New Testament, with the exception of the Sabbath command.

You might picture the two tables of the Law in this way:

Tables of the Law